Meet Industry in CS & Data science | Explore week

The department has recently established two External Advisory Boards (EAB) for Computer Science and Data Science. These are full of staff from industry/government/more who will help the department consider their teaching, research, and engagement with applied CS/Data Science.

CSS is working with the department to invite 2nd/3rd/4th to meet with members of the board. This is a great opportunity for students to ask questions about future careers, network, and give board members an idea of what it’s like to study here.

There are two sessions on Thursday 07/03/19 - you can attend both if you want to:

  • Data Science Industry Q&A - 1-2pm: https://careers.bristol.ac.uk/students/events/detail/454772
  • Computer Science Q&A - 3-4pm: https://careers.bristol.ac.uk/admin/events/info/454771/dashboard

Board members include Directors, CEOs and more from Intel, Microsoft, Amazon, Ultrahaptics, and more.


Full list: Computer Science advisory board: Adrian Tate, Cray, Director, https://www.linkedin.com/in/atate/

Ben Sach, Alan Turing Institute, Data Scientist, https://www.linkedin.com/in/bgsach/

Carolyn Hassan, Knowle West Media Centre, Director, https://www.linkedin.com/in/carolyn-hassan-984b5b5/

Emily Hill, Ghyston, CEO and Co-Founder, https://www.linkedin.com/in/emily-hill-0277a1a2/

Gemma Coles, Mubaloo, Managing Partner, https://www.linkedin.com/in/gemma-coles-227a6510/

Jenny Griffiths, SnapFashion, Founder, https://www.linkedin.com/in/jennygriffiths/

Jim Cownie, Intel, Snr Principal Engineer, https://uk.linkedin.com/in/jim-cownie-3939b1

Jo Reid, Calvium, Managing Director, https://www.linkedin.com/in/reidjo/

Kenton O’Hara, Microsoft Research, Senior Scientist, https://www.linkedin.com/in/kenton-o-hara-9021a31/

Matt Ball, Thales, Chief Scientist, https://www.linkedin.com/in/matt-ball-a970b17/

Mike Bartley, Test & Verification Solutions, Founder and CEO, https://www.linkedin.com/in/drmikebartley/

Monika Radclyffe, SET Squared, Director, https://www.linkedin.com/in/monika-radclyffe/

Serrie Chapman, Women’s Tech Jobs, Founder, https://www.linkedin.com/in/serrie-chapman-55a5927/

Tom Carter, Ultrahaptics, Founder, https://www.linkedin.com/in/tom-carter/

Yoge Patel, Blue Bear Systems, CEO, https://www.linkedin.com/in/dr-yoge-patel-5ba57917/


Amelia Waddington, LiveRamp, Director of Product, https://www.linkedin.com/in/amelia-waddington-26742a9/

Angela Watkins, Welsh Assembly, Senior Science Officer, https://www.linkedin.com/in/angela-watkins-63961123/

Chew Yean Yam, Microsoft, Principal Data Scientist, https://www.linkedin.com/in/cyyam/

Christa Mpundu, Goldman Sachs, Associate, https://www.linkedin.com/in/mcmpundu/

Elisabeth Olafsdottir, Cognizant, Director AI and Analytics, https://www.linkedin.com/in/elisabeth-olafsdottir/

Emma-Claire Shaw, DEFRA, Innovation Consultant, https://www.linkedin.com/in/emmaclairepengelly/

Gjeta Gjyshinca, Morgan Stanley, Application Developer, https://www.linkedin.com/in/gjetagjyshinca/

Paul Selwood, Met Office, Science Fellow, https://www.metoffice.gov.uk/research/people/paul-selwood

Sole Galli, LV, Lead Data Scientist, https://www.linkedin.com/in/soledad-galli-09260271/

Tom Diethe, Amazon, Applied Science Manager, https://www.linkedin.com/in/tomdiethe/

Tom Smith, Office of National Stats, Chief Data Scientist, https://www.linkedin.com/in/tomdatasmith/

Our lovely sponsors

Cookpad logo Bloomberg logo Jump Trading logo Yobota logo TPP logo GRAPHCORE logo Visa logo Optiver logo Pilgrim Brewery logo

This could be you!

Get in touch